News

The AFCoW News & Events section will provide an outlet for news reports and commentary on waterbirds in the Asian Flyways as well as reporting on new publications (see References). A schedule of Events will be provided for meetings, workshops, and other activities that may interest AFCoW members. Please feel free to send topics for News & Events to the organizers through the contact page or listserve.

18 May Webinar Uploaded!

Our last AFCoW Webinar of the season has been uploaded from 18 May 2022 where Zhiwei Guo from Louisiana State University presented on “How do the wetlands on the Liao River Plain in Northeast China support migratory cranes?,” Yachang Cheng from Sun Yat-sen University presented on “The first GPS tracking study of pelagic seabird, the streaked shearwater in Yellow sea, China” and Hui Yu from Wageningen University presented on “A new GPS transmitter system allowing continuous on-board behaviour classification – a case study with Pacific Black Ducks.”

Our next meeting will be in September/October! Keep an eye on your emails for future dates and let us know if you would like to present some of your work or if you have any other ideas for AFCoW!

If you don’t have access to YouTube we have also uploaded our webinar to Bilibili: Link coming soon!

 

19 April Webinar Uploaded!

Our AFCoW Webinar has been uploaded from 19 April 2022 where David Melville and Adrian Riegen from the Global Flyway Network presented on “Shorebirds of the West Coast of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea – status and challenges for conservation” and Bruce McKinlay from the New Zealand Department of Conservation presented on “New Zealand Waders: current research and conservation.”

Our next meeting will be held on May 18 at 6AM San Francisco, 8AM New Orleans, 9AM Washington DC, 2PM Europe, 9PM Beijing, 11PM Sydney — this will be our last webinar of the season but we’ll be back in the fall!! Hope to see you all there!

If you don’t have access to YouTube we have also uploaded our webinar to Bilibili: https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1gY4y1a7c7?share_source=copy_web

 

16 March Webinar Uploaded!

Our AFCoW Webinar has been uploaded from 16 March 2022 where Taej Mundkur from Wetlands International presented on “The Wetlands International Waterbird Portal, EAAF and CAF,” Hansoo Lee from Korea Institute of Environmental Ecology presented on “Migratory bird tracking in East Asia for monitoring the transmission of avian influenza. Mostly EAAF?,” and Batbayar Galtbalt from Deakin University presented on “Why do some birds migrate in a loop? The case of the Demoiselle crane.”
Our next meeting will be on 19-20 April 2022 at 6PM (19Apr) San Francisco, 9PM (19Apr) Washington DC, 3AM Europe, 9AM Beijing, 11AM Sydney, 1PM Auckland – We hope to see you there!
If you don’t have access to YouTube we have also uploaded our webinar to Bilibili: https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1oS4y1m7Ag?share_source=copy_web

 

16 February Webinar Uploaded!

Our AFCoW webinar has been uploaded from 16 February 2022 where Aarif K. Muhammed from King Fahd University presented on “Southwest India waterbirds”, Sabir Bin Muzaffar from UAE University presented on “Quantitative analysis of environmental factors associated with SE India waterbirds” and Jimmy Choi from Southern University of Science and Technology presented on “Shorebirds in the EAAF”.

Our next meeting will be on Wednesday, 16 March 2022 at 5AM San Francisco, 8AM Washington DC, 1PM Europe, 8PM Beijing, 9PM Seoul, Ulaanbaatar — Hope to see you there!

If you don’t have access to YouTube we have also uploaded our webinar to Bilibili: https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV13Z4y1k7it?share_source=copy_web

 

19 January Webinar Uploaded!

Our AFCoW webinar has been uploaded from 19 January 2022 where Zhijun Ma from the Fudan University presented on “Conservation of shorebirds and their intertidal habitats in China” and Richard Lanctot from the USFWS Alaska Region presented on “Status and migratory dynamics of Dunlin in the EAAF: what we need to know to implement effective conservation”.

Our next meeting will be 16 February 2022! Hope to see you there!

If you don’t have access to YouTube we have also uploaded our webinar to Bilibili: https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1n3411Y7J6?share_source=copy_web

15 December Webinar Uploaded!

Our AFCoW webinar has been uploaded from 15 December 2021 where Dr. S. “Bala” Balachandran from the Bombay Natural History Society presented on “Shorebirds of the Indian Subcontinent” and Jeff Sullivan from the U. S. Geological Survey, Eastern Ecological Science Center presented on “Waterfowl Spring Migratory Behavior from Hong Kong and Avian Influenza Risk along the East Asian-Australasian Flyway”.

Our next meeting will be 12 January 2022! See you in the new year!

If you don’t have access to YouTube we have also uploaded our webinar to Bilibili: https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1UL4y1H7xC?share_source=copy_web

AFCoW Webinar. 15 December. 7:30 AM EST (8:30 PM China Standard Time).

Our next AFCoW Webinar will be on December 15th (6:00PM Chennai; 8:30PM China Standard Time; 7:30AM Eastern Standard Time; 1:30PM Central European Time), where Dr. S. “Bala” Balachandran from the Bombay Natural History Society will be presenting on “Shorebirds of the Indian Subcontinent” and Jeff Sullivan from the U. S. Geological Survey, Eastern Ecological Science Center will be presenting on “Waterfowl Spring Migratory Behavior from Hong Kong and Avian Influenza Risk along the East Asian-Australasian Flyway”. Hope to see you there!

Subscribe to the AFCoW list